TCEB Situation Update COVID-19 Virus on 26 October 2021

The Prime Minister of Thailand announced on 21 October a series of major easing of control measures in response to the stable infection situation, improving rate of recovery, higher vaccination administration and the need to restore the economy. Key relaxations include quarantine-free entry to the Kingdom by air for travellers from 45 countries and 1 territory, designation of 17 provinces as pilot tourism destinations where curfew is lifted and gathering of up to 500 attendees is allowed, effective 1 November onwards. The details are as follows:

1. Entry into Thailand for travellers from 45 countries and 1 territory

According to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the notification of its Operation Center for Measures on the Entry into and Departure from the Kingdom and Protection of Thai Nationals Abroad has listed the following countries and territories granted with the permission to enter the Kingdom of Thailand for individuals under category (13):

1. Australia 2. Austria 3. Bahrain 4. Belgium 5. Bhutan 6. Brunei Darussalam 7. Bulgaria 8. Cambodia 9. Canada 10. Chile 11. China 12. Cyprus 13. Czech Republic 14. Denmark 15. Estonia 16. Finland 17. France 18. Germany 19. Greece 20. Hungary 21. Iceland 22. Ireland 23. Israel 24. Italy 25. Japan 26. Latvia 27. Lithuania 28. Malaysia 29. Malta 30. Netherland 31. New Zealand 32. Norway 33. Poland 34. Portugal 35. Qatar 36. Saudi Arabia 37. Singapore 38. Slovenia 39. Republic of Korea 40. Spain 41. Sweden 42. Switzerland 43. United Arab Emirates 44. United Kingdom 45. United States 46. Hong Kong

2. Disease prevention control measures for travellers into Thailand

The travellers must possess proof of entry registration, proof of full vaccination, negative test result, insurance covering treatment in line with the required criteria, and proof of accommodation payment as required by the Center for COVID-19 Situation Administration (CCSA).

For more details, please visit

3. Designation of pilot tourism destinations (Sandbox)

17 provinces are designated as follows;

1. Bangkok

2. Samut Prakan (only the Suvarnabhumi Airport)

3. Chonburi (only Bang Lamung District, Pattaya, Koh Si Chang District, Tambon Na Jomtien and Bang Sare)

4. Rayong (only Koh Samet)

5. Trat (only Koh Chang District)

6. Phetchaburi (only Cha-am Municipality)

7. Prachuap Khiri Khan (only Tambon Hua Hin and Tambon Nong Kae)

8. Phuket

9. Phang Nga

10. Krabi

11. Ranong (Koh Phayam)

12. Surat Thani (only Koh Samui, Koh Phangan and Koh Tao)

13. Chiang Mai (only Muang District, Doi Tao District, Mae Rim District and Mae Taeng District)

14. Loei (only Chiang Khan District)

15. Buriram (only Muang District)

16. Udon Thani (only Muang District, Ban Dung District, Kumphawapi District, Nayoong District, Nong Han District and Prachaksinlapakhom District)

17. Nong Khai (only Muang District, Sangkhom District, Sri Chiang Mai District and Tha Bo District)

The designation is subject to change (s) of the situation.

4. Integrated control measures for pilot tourism destinations

Venues, establishments or activities conducted in pilot tourism destinations must proceed under the terms, conditions, regulations and disease control measures set up by the authorities, such as Universal Prevention, COVID Free Setting and legal measures related to communicable diseases established by responsible authorities in each area.

5. Lifting of curfew hours

Prohibition of leaving residence in pilot tourism destinations is lifted effective 23.00 hrs. of 31 October 2021.

6. Organising activities posing infection risks

In pilot tourism destinations, maximum attendance at crowd-gathering activity is 500. The activity must, however, comply with the prohibition on infection risk and follow permission request procedures, or any exemptions as stated in no. 4 and no. 5 of the regulation no. 30 dated 1 August 2021.

7. Preparation of service establishments or locations exposed to infection risk in pilot tourism destinations

Initially, service establishments, enterprises similar to service establishments, pubs, bars, karaoke outlets that are located in pilot tourism destinations remain closed. The authorities and entrepreneurs must make preparation for the control relaxation as announced in the regulation no. 35 dated 15 October 2021 so that they can resume operation according to the plan and timeline of the government which will be announced later.

8. Change of sub-area status inside pilot tourism destinations and establishment of additional measure in each province

With the consent of the provincial/city communicable disease committee, the provincial/city governor can submit the tightening or relaxation of sub-area status in their area to the operation center of CCSA for the consideration by the Prime Minister. With the Communicable Disease Act B.E. 2558, the provincial/city governor can order the closure, limit or ban the premises or activities posing infection risk in their responsible areas, enforcing such order as additional measure (s) of the integrated control measures for pilot tourism destinations if such additional measure (s) is/are deemed fit the situation.

Reference (TH Version) (TH Version) (TH Version)


Further information about COVID-19 outbreak from WHO

Department of Disease Control Contact Centre (Call 1422 24/7)

Thailand Convention and Exhibition Bureau (TCEB) (Call +66 (0) 2694 6000) or